Hal Duncan

I recently stumbled across this interview with the magnificent Hal Duncan. I’ve been a huge fan of his ever since I read The Book of All Hours seven or eight years ago. He’s a literary genius and a wordsmith of the highest calibre. The first book, Vellum, strongly divided people as it’s such a challenging read, but I absolutely loved it. It took me a little while to grasp where he was going with it, but the beautiful writing was enough to sustain me until I had a handle on the story. By that time, I was completely hooked and dove straight into the second part, Ink. It’s without a doubt one of the most rewarding book sequences I’ve ever read and I was so glad I stuck with the early part of Vellum and got to experience the story in its entirety.

https://i0.wp.com/www.apex-magazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/image015.jpgimage014

So I’m kind of in awe of Mr Duncan. The above interview (featured in Apex Magazine) is a lengthy but fascinating read. I always enjoy hearing other peoples’ creative process, and this is no exception. His answer to the question ‘Why do you write?’ may be one of my favourite things ever.

Beware of profanity… but go and read it. There’s even a link to one of his short stories as an added bonus (or if you’d rather read his work than what he has to say about it).

I may have to read Vellum again soon…

Leave a Reply

